Literature News Section

PLCS celebrated Independence Day 2022

Written by GNK

GNK English News Desk

PLCS celebrated Independence Day 2022

Progressive Literary & Cultural Society (India) celebrated “Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav – Independence Day 2022” online on 15th August 2022. Dr. Shamenaz (Founder & President, PLCS) commenced by paying an homage to freedom fighters.

He also paid tribute to all those leaders and individuals who have contributed in building India. She then invited the first performer of the evening, Anushka Pandit (Arya Kanya Degree College, Prayagraj) who sang “Tere Mitti me mil jawa” and everyone was mesmerized by her song.

The second performer, Saumya Rajan (RTMM, Prayagraj) sang “Mera Karma tu , mera dharma tu” and Sakshee Chaturvedi (RTMM, Prayagraj) sang “O desh mere, teri shaan ke sadke”. Priya Tiwari (RTMM, Prayagraj) recited her self-composed poem “Teen Rang ka Dhwaj” and Heba recited her poem, “Bhartiye Sainik”.

After students performances, the first first poet to recite her poem was Dr. Nalini Tandon (Delhi). She read her poem, “Swatantrata aur Unnati”. Dr. Neerja Sachdev (USA-India) read “Patriotic Independence”, Prasanna Kumar (Hyderabad) read “Mera Tiranga”, Dr. Ranjana Saran Sinha (Nagpur) read “Jai Hind”, Dr Perwaiz Shaharyar read “Wake Up Asia” and Dr. Shamenaz read “Har Ghar Tiranga”.

In the end, Sakshee Chaturvedi presented her self-composed song, “Jahan se aa rahi teri khusbu, wahan se kaisi aayi jaat-dharm ki deewar”. The programme ended with a vote of thanks by Dr. Shamenaz.

About the author


Leave a Comment